IEEE International Conference on Blockchain and Cryptocurrency
27–31 May 2024 // Dublin, Ireland



Call for Papers

2nd IEEE International Workshop on Cryptocurrency Exchanges (CryptoEx 2024)

Co-located with IEEE Int’l Conference on Blockchain and Cryptocurrency (ICBC 2024), Dublin, May 31, 2024

The 2nd IEEE International Workshop on Cryptocurrency Exchanges (CryptoEx 2024) will be held in conjunction with the IEEE International Conference on Blockchain and Cryptocurrency (ICBC 2024, on May 31, 2024 in Dublin, Ireland. The workshop is co-sponsored by IEEE Communications Society, POSTECH Center for Crypto Blockchain Research (CCBR), and Blockchain Today.

Bitcoin was the first cryptocurrency introduced in 2009 as a means of global electronic payment. Since then many cryptocurrencies were created to support not only electronic payments but also for various other purposes, including utility tokens, security tokens, and stablecoins. There are thousands of cryptocurrencies present in the market today. These cryptocurrencies can be purchased, sold or traded at cryptocurrency exchanges. There are mainly two types of crypto exchanges, centralized (CEX) and decentralized (DEX). Recently, these crypto exchanges have been providing more than trading cryptocurrencies to their customers including DeFi services, custody services, NFT marketplaces and so on.

This workshop aims at providing an international forum for researchers and developers of services in cryptocurrency exchanges. CryptoEx 2024 will combine original paper presentations with quick hot topic poster presentations and a panel discussion to thoroughly explore this challenging area.

Topics of interest

Authors are invited to submit papers that fall into or are related to the topic areas listed below:

  • Centralized Crypto Exchanges (CEX)

  • Decentralized Crypto Exchanges (DEX)
  • DeFi (staking, lending, borrowing, flash loan)
  • Crypto Arbitrage
  • AI for Crypto Trading Bots
  • FATF Travel Rule Compliance
  • Stablecoins
  • Security Tokens and Regulations
  • Non-Fungible Tokens (NFT)
  • Fractional NFT
  • SoulBound NFT
  • Liquidity Pools
  • AMM (Automated Market Making)
  • CBDC (Central Bank Digital Currency)
  • DACS (Digital Asset Custody Service)
  • Digital Signatures
  • Wallets
  • Security Attacks
  • Support for multi-chain transactions
  • Trading and Withdrawal Fees
  • Innovative Services
  • Operations and management
  • Proof of Reserve



Paper submissions must present original, unpublished research or experiences. Late-breaking advances and work-in-progress reports from ongoing research are also encouraged. Each submission must be written in English, accompanied by a 75 to 200 word abstract that clearly outlines the scope and contributions of the paper, and a list of key words. There is a length limitation of 6 pages (excluding references) for regular conference papers, and 4 pages for short papers describing work in progress. Submissions must be in IEEE 2-column style. Papers exceeding these limits, multiple submissions, and self- plagiarized papers will be rejected without further review. The paper submission templates are available on IEEE Manuscript Templates for Conference Proceedings.

Authors should submit their papers (full or short) in PDF to EDAS (

Papers accepted for CryptoEx 2024 will be included in the conference Proceedings, IEEE Xplore, and EI Index. The IEEE reserves the right to remove any paper from IEEE Xplore and EI Index if the paper is not presented at the conference.

Authors of the best accepted papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers to a fast-tracked, special issue of Wiley’s International Journal of Network Management (IJNM).


  • Paper Submission Due (EXTENDED): March 05, 2024

  • Reviews Released to Authors: March 31, 2024

  • Rebuttals Due: April 03, 2024
  • Notification of Acceptance: April 5, 2024
  • Camera Ready Due: April 12, 2024
  • Workshop Date: May 31, 2024


Chair: James W. Hong, POSTECH, Korea

TPC Co-Chairs: Andreas Veneris, U. of Toronto, Canada, Hongtaek Ju, KMU, Korea, Taeyeol Jeong, SHOPX Labs, USA

Poster Chair:  Myung-Sup Kim, Korea Univ., Korea

Publicity Co-Chairs:  Mi-Jung Choi, KNU, Korea Chaehyeon Lee, POSTECH, Korea

Publication Co-Chairs: Changhoon Kang, POSTECH, Korea, Wonseok Choi, POSTECH, Korea

TPC List

Full Name Affiliation
Anang Hudaya Muhamad Amin    Higher Colleges of Technology  
Andreas Veneris   University of Toronto
Boon Chong Ang  Intel
Hongtaek Ju       Keimyung University
James Hong        POSTECH
Jeffrey Chu         Renmin University of China
Jitendra Goyal     Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur
Kristian Kostal     Slovak University of Technology
Laura Ricci          University of Pisa
Mi-Jung Choi      Kangwon National University
Mirza Shuhan      bKash Limited
Myung-Sup Kim   Korea University
Nour El Madhoun           ISEP Engineering School
Salil Kanhere       UNSW Sydney
Sejin Park           Keimyung University
Yana Volkovich    Microsoft
Youngjoon Won   Hanyang University
Yuansong Qiao    Technological University of the Shannon



Technical Sponsors